Welcome Guest: Register | Log in
 
FAQ | Search | Memberlist | Usergroups
 
trying to settle an argument- Tildy
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic
ExtremeBartending.com Forum Index -> General Bartending Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Flair



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 10
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2003 9:49 am
PostPost subject: underage working
Reply with quote

I live in NJ and i began as a barback at 18 years old . I think this is a Varies state to state thing . Flair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jiggernaut



Joined: 01 Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Location: Santa Fe, NM

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:54 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Yup it's a state-to-state thing. There are NO federal regulations concerning it that I know of. Well except for your good old Child Labor Regulations which don't apply to persons over 18. So nevermind...

Here in New Mexico They can do pretty much anything as long as they are 19 years old and have their Alcohol Servers Certification. The one thing that I don't think is a regulation, but more frowned upon is that no person under 21 can be a bonified bartender. Not even working the well. When I asked at my certification class about this they said that it wasn't a rule but an industry standard to help with liability issues. I agree that it would be very risky to have someone under drinking age behind the bar.
_________________
I'm sorry sir, I think you've had enough. Uh-huh bu-bye...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dragonfire
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 10:44 pm
PostPost subject: some laws
Reply with quote

I live in mississippi where there are laws on the age to have to be to handle alcohol, and that minors are not allowed to handle alcohol unless just serving, but being in a place after food hours, there seems to be no law against that
Back to top
Jessikate



Joined: 01 Dec 2003
Posts: 103
Location: Western Slope of Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 7:28 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Miss Tildy,
This is the information that I was provived with when I did an inquiry with the Oregon Liqour Commision:

[quote:56cede2e96]471.480 Sale of liquor by certain employees 18 years of age or older. (1) Any employee 18 years of age or older of a person who holds an off-premises sales license from the Oregon Liquor Control Commission may sell any alcoholic liquor authorized by such license on the licensed premises.

(2) Any employee 18 years of age or older of a person who holds a wholesale malt beverage and wine license from the Oregon Liquor Control Commission may assist the licensee in the delivery of any alcoholic liquor authorized by such license. [1971 c.490 §1; 1985 c.378 §2; 1999 c.351 §34]

471.482 Sale or service of liquor by employees 18 years of age or older generally; rules. (1) The holder of a license issued under this chapter may employ persons 18, 19 and 20 years of age who may take orders for, serve and sell alcoholic liquor in any part of the licensed premises when that activity is incidental to the serving of food except in those areas classified by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission as being prohibited to the use of minors. However, no person who is 18, 19 or 20 years of age shall be permitted to mix, pour or draw alcoholic liquor except when pouring is done as a service to the patron at the patron’s table or drawing is done in a portion of the premises not prohibited to minors.

(2) A person who is 18, 19 or 20 years of age may enter areas classified by the commission as being prohibited to the use of minors only for the purpose of ordering and picking up alcoholic liquor for service in other parts of the premises. However, the person shall not remain in the areas longer than is necessary to perform those duties.

(3) The commission by rule may permit access to prohibited areas by any minor for nonalcoholic liquor employment purposes as long as the minor does not remain longer than is necessary to perform the duties. [1981 c.610 §2; 1993 c.128 §2; 1995 c.301 §70; 1999 c.351 §59]

[/quote:56cede2e96]

So, in discussion with a member of the Oregon liqour commision th jist of the conversation was:

18, 19, 20 year olds must hold a permit to serve alcohol and they may only serve alcohol if it is in conjunction wih food service or if the Oregon Liqour Board has ok'd the server to serve alcohol otherwise. An 18, 19 or 20 year old may not, however, serve alcohol within a premisis that the Oregon State Liqour Commission has decided that there will be no minors allowed (i.e. Bars).

To sum it up, your underage servers can serve to tables in a restauraunt, however when food service has ended and the venue becomes more a less a bar the minors in question are no longer allowed to be on premisis.

I hope this helps you Tildy, fi you have further questions, please post them and I'll do my best to help you. You may want to print this post out and take it to work with you as viable proof.

Jes
_________________
The odds are good but the goods are odd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
frogprincess469
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2003 6:21 pm
PostPost subject: its a state thing
Reply with quote

I live in Niagara Falls Canada. If we have our smart serve me can pour and serve alcohol. What is the point of having your smart serve in your state if u can't use it? I think it is time for a change!
Back to top
Jessikate



Joined: 01 Dec 2003
Posts: 103
Location: Western Slope of Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2003 7:05 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

I'm very gald you found the information helpfull..... Should any such questions arise for anyone else, I'll be glad to help out. It is very important to know the particualr laws in your states and areas if you are working with alcohol, particulary for the person holding the liqour licence!
_________________
The odds are good but the goods are odd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dewhitewolf



Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 12:24 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

It all depends on the jurisdiction you're in. Here in NJ, a person may serve at 18, but each county, and municipality within, may restrict it to 21. Permits and certificates are not required for servers or bartenders--only the owners of the establishment need to be licensed.

For specific info, ask the state alcohol board directly rather than an online forum. There will be the requirements and any included exceptions, straight from the horse's mouth.
_________________
"The pen is mightier than the sword; but the foot is mightier than the ass!"--me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
ExtremeBartending.com Forum Index -> General Bartending Discussions All times are GMT
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Free Newsletter
Name:
E-mail:





phpBB 2.0.6
Template by BMan1
Scott Young, President and Head Instructor Bar Smart Inc.